Introductions and About the Blog

At the end of my first year of uni (or it might have been the second, I forget), I visited my school with a few of my friends from back then and had a chat with my old tutor. She suggested to me that it might be a good idea for me to start blogging. I believe her reasoning was that I tended in class, to have a fair bit to say for myself and I ought to channel those resources into something more… out of the way. Long story short, it seemed like a good idea and I’ve just about gotten around to doing it.

So, I’ll be posting hopefully fairly regularly about whatever takes my interest at the time. I can’t really tell you what to expect because I’m not sure what exactly I’ll be writing from day to day but I guess I can say that I’m an English lit student in the UK, the last book I read was Derrida’s Archaeology of the Frivolous, the last film I watched was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1, primarily because it was on TV yesterday night when I was hanging out with my housemates. The next film I plan to watch is either Miyazaki’s Kaze Tachinu (The Wind Rises), or Sakasama no Patema (Patema Inverted). The last videogame I played was Dark Souls 2. If I were asked about a favourite band I would say the band I enjoy the most right now is Supercell (ryo) and the affiliated group Egoist. I started playing cricket when I was 10 or 11. I started out as an opening bat and ended up as an opening bowler. I stopped playing a couple of years ago now and do not currently intend to return to the field anytime soon, which I do regret somewhat. I started studying the martial arts when I was 15. I still train in the martial arts and hope to continue doing so for the foreseeable future. The last thing I cooked was a wok full of curried noodles with mackerel and celery. It didn’t turn out as nice as I’d hoped. My housemates and I are planning to get burgers tonight. I’m not sure if that plan will go ahead or not yet though. I could really go for a burger though so here’s hoping.

Anyway, there’s an introduction of sorts. Maybe it’ll help you all figure out what kind of things I might be posting about. Or maybe it won’t…

In either case, I hope you’ll enjoy the blog whatever it ends up consisting of and thanks to those of you who may not know me for bearing with my perhaps frustratingly meandering style of writing. To those of you who do know me, you’re probably used to it already, but thanks for putting up with it for all this time anyway.

More posts coming soon, happy reading!

Gabriel.

Leave a Reply

